people

This is us.

Nanotechnology Research Center is an Engineering organization unlike any other. The line between research and product development is wonderfully blurred. The engineer is often engaged in research and the researcher in real-world systems. The people who works at NANOTAM, from graduate students to managers, actively share their works through publication in high impact scientific journals and through other venues such as industry forums and conferencese.

Director  |  Faculty Members  |  Researchers  |  Engineers at NANOTAM  |  Post-Docs  |  PhD Students  |  Master's Students  |  Technicians

Director

Ekmel Ozbay

Prof. Dr. Ekmel Ozbay received B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Middle East Technical University, Ankara, TURKEY in 1987. He received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Stanford University, CA, in 1989 and 1992. From 1992 to 1993, he worked as a postdoctoral research associate in Stanford University. From 1992 to 1995, he worked as a scientist in Iowa State University. He joined Bilkent University (Ankara, TURKEY) in 1995, where he is currently a full professor in Physics Department and Electrical-Electronics Engineering Department. He has published 400+ articles in SCI journals. His papers have received 12500+ SCI citations with an SCI h-index of 53. He has given 155+ invited talks in international conferences. In 2003, he founded Bilkent University Nanotechnology Research Center (NANOTAM) where he leads a research group working on nanophotonics, nanometamaterials, nanoelectronics, nanoplasmonics, nanodevices, photonic crystals, GaN/AlGaN MOCVD growth, fabrication and characterization of GaN based devices, and high speed optoelectronics. He is the 1997 recipient of the Adolph Lomb Medal of Optical Society of America and 2005 European Union Descartes Science award. He worked as an editor for Nature Scientific Reports, Optics Letters, Photonics and Nanostructures Fundamental Applications, and IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics journals.

ozbay@ee.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1966

Faculty Members

Orhan Aytur






aytur@ee.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 2748

Researchers

Deniz Caliskan






dcaliskan@fen.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3953
Bayram Butun






bbtn@ee.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3955
Engin Arslan






engina@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1020
Funda Tamara Gundogdu






tamara@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3971
Humeyra Caglayan






hcaglayan@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3461
Mutlu Gokkavas






gokkavas@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3973
Neval Yilmaz Civel






nyilmaz@ee.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1017
Tolga Kartaloglu






tkartal@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3956
Erman Engin






erman.engin@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3943

Engineers at NANOTAM

Aylin Karagoz Yertutanol








karagoz@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3969
Batuhan Sutbas




batuhan.sutbas@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8736
Berkay Bozok









berkay.bozok@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3966
Bilgehan Paray






bilgehan.paray@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3947
Cihan Solmaz






cihan.solmaz@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3993
Damla Kocak





damla.kocak@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8746
Deniz Ceylan Gulcu






denizceylan@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3940
Evren Oztekin






eoztekin@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3944
Eyup Canberk Unal






canberk.unal@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3948
Fatma Yasemin Kanli Asik






ykanli@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3968
Fatma Aydin





fatma.aydin@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3946
Faruk Uyar








faruk.uyar@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3949
Fikri Oguz









fikri.oguz@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3979
Gamze Segmenoglu






gamzes@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3050
Gokhan Mehmetoglu






gmehmetoglu@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3967
Gurur Salkim







gurur.salkim@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8748
Ibrahim Onur Tufekci





i.onur@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3965
Kubra Elif Asan








kubraelif.asan@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8746
Levent Ozkarayel





levent.ozkarayel@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3975
Mehmet Cihan Cakir






ccakir@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3951
Mustafa Erol





mustafa.erol@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3938
Murat Gokbayrak





murat.gokbayrak@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3976
Nursel Asici









nasici@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1966
Omer Ahmet Kayal









omer.kayal@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1018
Pakize Oztop Turhan






pakized@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8708
Selvi Songul Boga






selvi.boga@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3962
Serdar Ogut






sogut@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3937
Sertac Ural








sertac.ural@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1017
Seval Donertas








donertas@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3053
Sevi Yenilmez





sevi@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3961
Utku Er








utku.er@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8760
Yusuf Ziya Koksal





yusuf.koksal@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3957
Pinar Istanbulluoglu






pinaristan@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3970
Ahmet Toprak






atoprak@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8755
Ahmet Muhammed Akbas






aakbas@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3950
Dogan Yilmaz






dogany@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8756
Gokhan Kurt






gokurt@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3943
Hamdi Armagan Gurdal










agurdal@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8744
Kemal Berk Sonmez






berksonmez@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8747
Ladin Ariyurek









ladin@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8709
Mehmet Taha Haliloglu






haliloglutaha@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8759
Muhittin Tasci








muhittintasci@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8743
Mustafa Ozturk






mozturk@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8754
Okan Atesal






okan.atesal@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3952
Omer Cengiz






omerc@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8761
Sinan Osmanoglu






sinan.osmanoglu@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8763
Ulas Ozipek








ulas.ozipek@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8763
Ugur Koroglu






ugurkoroglu@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8756
Yildirim Durmus






yildirimd@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8758
Ferhat Ucar






ferhat.ucar@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3940
Elif Albina Genel






albina.genel@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3952

Post-Docs

Alireza Rahimi Rashed









alireza.rashed@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3457
Ege Ozgun







ozgune@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1019
Hodjat Hajian





hodjat.hajian@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3458

PhD Students

Amir Ghobadi





amir@ee.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3458
Mohsin Habib





mohsin.habib@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1018
Shahnaz Aas





shahnaz.aas@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1033
Sina Abedini Dereshgi





sadereshgi@ee.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1020
Muammer Kanli





mukanli@gmail.com  

Master's Students

Majid Aalizadeh





majid.aalizadeh@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1018
Yigit Demirag









demirag@ee.bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1018
Melisa Gulseren





melisa.gulseren@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3959
Kazim Gorgulu





grglkzm@gmail.com  

Technicians

Ali Simsek





alisimsek@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1018
Cenk Canakpinar





cenkcanakpinar@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8760
Emrah Aytas





emrah.aytas@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8759
Mehmet Ozgur






mozgur@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3945

Mert Anber






mertanber@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3934
Oguzhan Kirec









oguzhan.kirec@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1024
Ramazan Ozsoy






rozsoy@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3974
Selim Celik





selim.celik@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8748
Tayfur Kaya






tayfur.kaya@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1019
Tolga Senol






tolga.senol@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 1019
Unal Ciftcier






ciftcier@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3052
Vahit Baris





vahit.baris@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 8747
Ayşegül Özdemir





a.ozdemir@bilkent.edu.tr   0 (312) 290 3933